Sailors Get Their Kicks at Shoe Regatta

By Terry Flynn, Quantum Seabrook


Lakewood Yacht Club hosted the 30th Annual Shoe Regatta this weekend in Seabrook, Texas. As always, everyone had a great time. From the skippers meeting on Friday night to the awards on Sunday, it was a perfect weekend. The regatta launched in 1982 with each crew member of the winning boat in each class receiving a gift certificate for a pair of Sperry deck shoes, hence the name "Shoe Regatta." 


This year, Quantum® customers took home most of the silver, or in this case, a new pair of kicks.  


1st  PHRF A, Steve Rhyne, Melges 32


1st PHRF B, Tony Nunes and William Plant, Beneteau 36.7


1st J/109, Al Goethe


1st J/80 David Whelan and Terry Flynn; 2nd Bill Rose;  3rd Ramon Torres


1st Viper, Marcus Maher;  2nd Farley Fontenot; 3rd Simon Thomas


1st J/22, Richard Voyles; 2nd Scott Grandt


See full results here. 


I would like to thank all the volunteers at LYC who helped out.  I look forward to racing next year. –TF



Tony Nunes and William Plant on the way to winning PHRF B.

This entry was posted in One Design Racing, PHRF Racing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.